Wednesday, August 26, 2009


Malaysiakini | August 25, 2009 | 8:51am    

Voters in Permatang Pasir started voting at 8am today to elect a new state assemblyperson for their constituency.

In all eight polling stations 39 streams are available for voters to cast their ballots.

The eight polling stations are SJKC Lay Keow Permatang Pauh, SMK Sama Gagah, SK Permatang Pauh, SK Permatang Pasir, SK Bukit Indra Muda, SJKC Kubang Semang, SK Seri Penanti and Sek Rendah Islam Al-Masriyah.

A total of 20,290 registered voters can participate in today's by-election which has been called following the death of incumbent PAS representative Mohd Hamdan Abdul Rahman, 63, on May 31st.

The by-election sees Barisan Nasional's Rohaizat Othman, 38, taking on PAS' Mohd Salleh Man, 55. However both the candidates will not be voting today as they are not registered voters of Permatang Pasir.

Anwar confident of win

Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim and his wife Dr Wan Azizah Ismail are however among the voters in this constituency and they were among the earliest to cast their votes.

Anwar, Wan Azizah and Mohd Salleh arrived at the SK Seri Penanti polling station at about 8.20am to vote.

Speaking to reporters after voting, Anwar said he was confident of a satisfying majority for Mohd Salleh.

"I am happy with our machinery. They have been working hard. I am confident Salleh will win with a satisfying majority," he said. 

[Source: Malaysiakini]